Life

Happy Chinese New Year!

chinese-new-year

Last Saturday marked the beginning of the Year of the Rooster…

Happy Chinese New Year 新年快乐!

Each year, my family generally celebrates by exchanging lucky red packets and ordering a Chinese takeaway. However this year, along with last year, I wasn’t with my family and so celebrated in a different way.

img_9910I didn’t have anything red to wear but I have red lipstick…

On the eve of Chinese New Year, the Warden in my college invited all of the Chinese students for a meal to celebrate the New Year. We were treated to a rather large amount of champagne and wine as well as a six course meal! I didn’t manage to get any pictures but watch out for the vlog footage in the coming weeks 😉

The following day, I went to check my pigeon hole only to find a letter from my mum {she frequently sends me letters here at university} which enclosed a lucky red packet! What perfect timing. That evening, a group of friends and I headed to a local Chinese restaurant to celebrate properly. Besides, college’s evening meal for the day was just a poor attempt at Chinese food and we were most definitely not going to eat it.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Since the restaurant only served egg tarts and other dumplings at lunch time, and since we were craving something sweet, we stopped off at G&D’s on the way back. Gurdeep and I shared a waffle with pistachio ice-cream:

As another one of my random acts of kindness (you can read about why I’m doing them here), I had ordered Chinese red packets and lots of chocolate coins to leave in my friends’ pigeon holes with a message saying ‘Happy Chinese New Year!’. I love finding things in my pigeon hole and I love it when I have reason to leave something for someone else.

The celebrations continue for two weeks straight and I’m almost certain I’ll use this as an excuse to order a Chinese takeaway very soon (though not this week as I’ve gone vegan!) I wish you all a fabulous New Year and may the Year of the Rooster bring you luck and happiness!

Peace and love,
Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | YOUTUBE | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

5 thoughts on “Happy Chinese New Year!

  1. Happy Chinese New Year! 🙂 It’s lovely that your university actually attempts to celebrate! I have no idea if my university did that because I never lived on campus. A waffle with pistachio ice-cream sounds like heaven though. Seriously. It’s not even 9am in New Zealand and I think I have a new craving haha. I love the idea of performing random acts of kindness! I bet you made their day 🙂 Good luck with going vegan as well!

  2. Aw Happy Chinese New Year, Viola! This is such a sweet post and it’s so lovely to hear about how people celebrate this date in various ways ☺️ Your act of kindness is so sweet and I bet your friends loved finding these little treats in their pigeon hole! xxx

  3. Pingback: Turning Twenty | A Piece of Viola

  4. Pingback: Reflection: Hilary Term | Uni Diaries | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

