Life / university

If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 19

if-we-were-having-coffee-new

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I can’t believe we’ve almost had an entire week of 2017. Where did 2016 go?! I’ve had such a fabulous week already {I’ve spent lots of time journalling, finally starting my university work and indulging in lots of chocolate because why not!} Did you catch my 2016 in review post? The past year taught me a lot.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’ve had an incredible start to 2017. I ended 2016 exactly as I started it – with my girl Alice. I took the long coach journey up to Manchester: we dressed up, went to see the fireworks, caught an uber back to avoid the absolute downpour, ordered an Indian, popped open a bottle of prosecco and chatted the night away… We didn’t get to bed until 6:40am(!) Oh, and did I mention I got my hair cut too? 😉

twenty-seventeen ✨ #hotisthenewblack #theclassylifestyle #nextdoormodel #postthepeople #postmystickpics

A post shared by V I O L A 💜 (@violahelen_) on

I then spent the next day seeing university friends in London – we took them to Nando’s as they’re American! I’ve also been having an incredibly productive week 😉

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I did get sick once I got back from Kraków! I had a fever for a couple of days as well as a bad flu which meant I spent two entire days in bed to ensure I recovered. I lounged about, watched a ton of YouTube videos, watched the entire series of Arrested Development (which is fab by the way), edited some YouTube videos as well as write a blog post and read more blogs! I also slept a lot.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I met up with a bunch of university friends just before Christmas as we had all planned to see a play. Half of them were having dinner together and I joined them but we actually ended up missing the play because we were too late and there was a strict no late-comers policy! It was kind of funny but also annoying since we had paid £12 each and the play was meant to be good. We ended up going to a bar and pub afterwards, and it was just lovely seeing everyone again anyway.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I had a really interesting, non-conventional Christmas. It felt really good to be back at home this year surrounded by my family (even if my aunt was sick on Christmas Day and didn’t turn up!) but in all honesty, it didn’t feel like Christmas whatsoever. I don’t know if this is because I’d been so busy rushing about I hadn’t had time to stop and enjoy the festivities and run-up beforehand or whether it’s because we’re all growing up now. Or perhaps it’s because things in my family are changing as my grandma gets older and older, I’m not sure what it is but I hope next year I can throw myself into the celebrations fully.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I thoroughly enjoyed myself whilst at my grandma’s over the Christmas period (and a fair few days afterwards). I indulged myself in far too much food and didn’t touch any of my academic work apart from reading bits of The Aeneid (and that’s a book I need to read in Latin, not English!)

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I had the most lovely catch-up with an old friend from secondary school. We didn’t end on the best terms when we left 18 months ago but we had a nine hour catch up (we didn’t anticipate it being this long?!) – it started as a small library conversation then we moved to a coffee shop, followed by actually going to get dinner! It’s such a nice feeling when you reconnect with old friends and you can hear about everything they’ve been up to since you last spoke.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m so grateful and slightly overwhelmed by the positive feedback I’m receiving on my YouTube channel. I’m gaining new subscribers every single day (come say hey!) and I think I’ll even be doing a Q&A video once I hit 500 subscribers – I’m almost there already?! Thank you all so, so, so much!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m feeling good about this blog and my YouTube channel. I finally feel like I have things under control in terms of what content I’m putting out there and having things scheduled. As I enter my next term at university, this will prove to be crucial as my workload will double compared with last term. If I hadn’t planned things ahead of time and actually got on top of everything, I would disappear for the next eight weeks. Thankfully, I don’t think that will happen.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have the travel bug again. I was recently on Skyscanner and saw that there were flights as little as £9 in the next couple of months! I would go in a heartbeat once term is over (and I just might go!) but I’d love to find a new travel buddy. I would also like to adventure and explore solo more too though, but having someone else with you always makes things more fun 😉

Did you catch my latest vlog?


Tell me…

Don’t forget to follow me on social media for more updates!

Instagram📷 & Twitter🐥 – @violahelen_
Snapchat👻 – violahelen

Peace and love,
Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | YOUTUBE | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

8 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 19

  1. What a lovely layout for this post! The idea of a coffee date is so cute. I’m glad you’ve had such a nice time lately and your YouTube is growing. I’m hoping to grow my blog this year and increase engagement. I’m also hoping I can travel, too!!
    Here’s to a great 2017!

    Jaycee | anthropolojay.com

  2. Your NYE outfit was so, so chic and you looked absolutely beautiful! It’s really good that you had a break from academic work over Christmas – you definitely deserved it! Eeeek I can’t believe there are £9 flights… definitely have to check this out! xxx

Leave a Reply

