Life / university

If We Were Having Coffee… (& UNI UPDATE) | Vol. 14

if-we-were-having-coffee-new

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I moved into university and I absolutely LOVE it! It’s been a hectic, crazy, insanely busy past couple of days but I can’t even begin to tell you guys how much I’m enjoying it! Look out for more posts on my freshers experience/life at Oxford so far and if you’re not following the adventures, hop on the wagon – instagram: @violahelen_; twitter: @violahelen_; youtube: viola helen; snapchat: violahelen

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I don’t know how I am still coping. I’ve been out for the past four nights for freshers with barely any sleep (early morning inductions/tutor meetings you suck!) and surprisingly I get through the day ready for another night out?!?! I’m generally the type of person who needs a solid eight hours and yet I’m still up for going out… I’m pretty sure that it will hit me and hit me hard. Not looking forward to that!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I calculated the total cost of my Gap Year travels. I spent a few hours last week quite literally going through receipts, online bank statements and email bookings to add it all up (this included doing a LOT of Maths with different conversion rates each time!) I’m a little bit of a perfectionist and wanted the exact amount in pounds, not a rough estimate based on just one exchange rate. So if you’re interested in knowing at all then please keep your eyes peeled for a pretty hefty blog post full of the breakdowns of everythingggg.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I PASSED MY DRIVING THEORY TEST BABY! A friend of mine had lent me her book (I had asked everyone I knew whether I could borrow their book because I’m stingy and didn’t want to pay for it myself…) but it was only until Sunday evening that I realised she’d given me the wrong book. She had given me the driving practical test book, NOT the driving theory book! Cue panic-mode. I spent the entire day last Monday finding as many free online resources I could and cramming all of the Highway Code and Road Signs into my brain. I somehow managed to pass on the Tuesday and didn’t pay a single thing for books, textbooks or apps! #PROUD.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I had such a lovely night out with some friends in London. There were a group of us who met two years ago at a summer school and four of us had a lil reunion for a London freshers event. It’s safe to say that I was incredibly exhausted the next day but it was worth it (I mean, the event wasn’t particularly good but it’s all about the company!)

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I went back to my school last Thursday to give a talk to some Year 12 students about what kind of things I did when I was their age and any advice I would give to them when thinking about what university course they want to do. I wasn’t expecting quite as many students that turned up (well over a class full!) but it made me realise just how much I love widening access, giving advice to younger pupils and helping anyone wherever I can. This is why I am so passionate and determined about doing weekly vlogs at Oxford and actually following through by editing and uploading them! I got asked lots and lots of questions by the students so I’ll be writing up more posts about summer schools I went on, how I decided my degree, applying to uni and other general advice and tips etc.


Tell me…

  • Do you have any crazy stories from your freshers? I’d love to hear some!
  • Have you passed your driving theory or your driving test? Got any driving practical tips for me?!
  • Would you like to see some posts about my university application experience?

Peace and love,
Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | YOUTUBE | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

6 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… (& UNI UPDATE) | Vol. 14

  1. Pingback: Freshers’ Week in Photos | Uni Diaries | A Piece of Viola

  2. Pingback: Reflection: Michaelmas Term | Uni Diaries | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

