Life / university

Chapter One: Moving to University

And so the next chapter of my life begins…

moving-to-uni

How has Tuesday 4th October hurtled around the corner and suddenly appeared?
How have I known about this day for well over a year and yet I’m still not prepared?!
How is it that I’m currently sitting in the front seat of my Mum’s rather packed car, full of boxes containing my nineteen years of life (I have most definitely packed waaaaay too much), driving towards Oxford???

Well, it all starts here.

I don’t know how I feel. I’m incredibly excited (like beyond excited, it’s a little bit weird) but at the same time I’m insanely nervous. It’s not that I’m nervous about moving away from home and living at university (uh, hello? I lived away from home independently for seven months) so I’m fine on that front but I’m so scared about the workload. I’ve been pretty stressed out about the pre-university prep work I’ve been set as it is! I haven’t done any academic work in fourteen months so I think the university work is going to be a huuuuge shock to the system (someone pls send love and chocolate my way).

When I went up to Oxford last Friday morning with my mum and sister, I don’t know what it was, but just being in Oxford again really inspired me and made me want to work, as strange as that might sound?! We went up for the morning before popping into my grandma’s on the way back as my sister can’t come today and she’s only ever been to Oxford once! It was really cute showing her around my college and just walking around the city. I also picked up my sub fusc (Oxford’s gown and mortarboard – required for matriculation and other formal events). Ah gosh, I’m already spewing out lots of Oxford terms that lots of you won’t know mean *face-palm*.

The feeling is a strange one and I suppose it’s what most freshers experience when they’re on their way to their new home. I think it’s more about the fact that this is what my life will essentially be like for the next four years. As amazing as my Gap Year was (and I don’t regret taking one in the slightest – heck, I’d take one again if I could in a heartbeat!), it was more of a travelling experience whereas university is a constant and opens up different experiences and opportunities.

Since university is a much longer experience, it inevitably means that my life will change significantly from where I am now to where I am in four years’ time. It’s crazy and scary. I want to get as involved with university life as possible as well as somehow maintaining my blog and YouTube channels by posting regularly. My posting schedule at the moment is two blogs posts a week (Tuesdays and Saturdays) and one YouTube video a week (Thursdays). If I slack on the blog posts, here’s your warning and explanation! I want to really try and find the time to weekly vlog at Oxford and I will put that as my priority over my blog posts simply because I’m really into widening access and showing you guys what life is really like – so head on over to my YouTube channel and subscribe if you haven’t already!

That’s it for now guys – wish me luck and I’ll see you in my next post (or even sooner if you’re following my social media!)

InstagramπŸ“· & TwitterπŸ₯ β€“ @violahelen_
SnapchatπŸ‘» β€“ violahelen

Peace and love,
Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | YOUTUBE | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

9 thoughts on “Chapter One: Moving to University

  1. Pingback: Spontaneity | A Piece of Viola

  2. Pingback: twenty-sixteen in review and what it has taught me | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

