gap year / Life / Travel

If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 7

if-we-were-having-coffee-new

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m currently sat on my flight back home to London. After 7 months of being away, it’s finally time to return home and end my gap year adventures. I really don’t want to come home (no, seriously) but there are a few things I will be looking forward to. I’ll be reflecting on all of my travels and will continue to write posts about all the places I’ve been to + travel guides so keep an eye out!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have had some bad luck lately. My mobile phone was STOLEN in Chengdu last last Friday! I was out with a couple of my students doing some sightseeing when I realised that my phone had been taken from my side bag. It was a disaster. I had come back to Chengdu for five days alone and my main way of communicating with my students (who I had arranged to meet) was solely through QQ and WeChat (two instant messaging apps). I was already locked out of QQ and so had to use text messages and send WeChat messages to students who had WeChat (lots only had QQ) and so when I lost my phone, I just didn’t know what to do. There was no other way to contact my students since they had no email address and I still hadn’t sorted out where I would be staying back in Shijiazhuang. I had everything on my phone.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that last weekend I went out to my first club in China. A couple of the students at my Chinese language school (KCE) knew a bunch of Brits who were English teachers in Shijiazhuang so we ended up going with them for one of their birthday’s. The club itself was strange but it was an opportunity to have a good time (something that I was in desperate need of!) The music was pretty awful and because practically everyone smoked and they were allowed to meant that the air was kinda suffocating. Despite that, though, you could get a double vodka + coke or a double rum + coke for 20元 which is around £2.50.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that Alice’s phone has also gone missing. So both of us are now phone-less. 😊  It happened after we left the club at about 4:30am. We left to go and buy some food with two of the Brits and then bought ice-cream from a 365 shop. Alice’s phone was last seen when we asked one of the guys to take a photo of us. We don’t remember if he definitely gave the phone back afterwards or not, but we realised that Alice didn’t have her phone once we got back to my apartment. We used Find My iPhone and the last location was nearby where we bought the ice-cream. We spend ages at the police station the next day too.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’ve been going out to dinner with my host mum and lots of her students (she teaches English). The restaurants I’ve been taken to have been incredible and the food has been amazing. The students I met vary from 7-9 years old and they’re adorable!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you about my time back in Chengdu. I’m going to write a more detailed post about what I did but it was just so lovely seeing my students again. I hope to stay in contact with some of them because I genuinely feel as though we are friends and I’m excited to see them grow up and mature.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m obsessed with these savoury pancakes you can get on Chinese street corners. They’re just so damn good – they’re essentially just a pancake with egg, lettuce, various sauces and  sausage but they are the bomb. And they’re only 55p! Bargain. I also found this small (kinda) cake-y shop right next to my apartment building. The cakes are sweet but not English-sponge cake sweet and the texture is slightly different buuuut they are so good and so cheap! They have nuts sprinkled on the top too. Each one is about 7p. It’s safe to say I might have eaten one too many… 🙊

Tell me…

  • What do you do when you’re having some bad luck?
  • Have you ever tried real, authentic Chinese food?
  • Do you know of any good food bargains in the UK? Do tell me 😉

Peace and love,
Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

One thought on “If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 7

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 12 | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

