gap year / Life / Travel

If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 6

 

if-we-were-having-coffee-new

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’ve actually moved out of the homestay I previously mentioned. The mother was actually really troublesome and we ended up clashing and having several problems. One of those problems being that the mother didn’t do anything at all when her daughter almost broke my Macbook – not once, but twice. I mean seriously. Anyway, I’ve moved into the school dormitory rooms (which are actually pretty decent) but I’ve been looking for a new homestay myself – with the help of a kind friend – so that I can move out ASAP. I would kinda say I’m homeless…

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that my Mandarin teacher was showing me all of the different functions on QQ (China’s version of Facebook/Twitter/Email/Whatsapp) and I put a ‘signature’ up – it’s kinda like a mini where people generally have quotes. I put up I’m homeless 😰” and the responses I got from my students back in Chengdu were hilarious! So many offered to help me and said I could stay with them – it was so nice to know they were all willing to help (despite the fact I’m in a completely different province!)

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m actually about to head out to meet a lady who says she can provide me with a flat to live in. It’s not particularly ideal since it’s not exactly a homestay homestay (I’m waiting on another homestay family) but it does mean I’ll be in frequent contact with a Chinese family which is what I want. I’ll let you know how that goes!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I finished Book 3 (my Mandarin textbook) and I’m now moving on to learning Book 4! I did go through it pretty speedily so I’ve got a lot of reviewing to do (especially as I’ve essentially forgotten all of the vocab already, whoops).

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that yesterday I went to the shopping centre with the other students and we saw the new X-Men movie. Having not seen all of the X-Men movies before, I was a little worried I wouldn’t follow but I actually understood and enjoyed all of it! We had also heard there was a Nando’s in the centre (I mean, this is China – can you imagine how excited I was to hear that?!) but it turns out it was Peri-Peri Restaurants. It had the exact same menu and layout, same sauces and napkins; even the interior design was pretty much the same so I was satisfied and settled with a chicken pitta and peri-salted chips.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m getting back into the instagram game again. While volunteering I kinda took a break from posting every day as I was so busy but things are changing. I’m now creating more content and taking the time to post more regularly – check out my feed 🙂

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’ve started to plan what I’ll be doing on each day I’m in Chengdu. It’s exciting planning things with the students and seeing what there is to do. I’m really looking forward to the trip – not only to be reunited with my students again (I actually love them) but also as a break from Mandarin! It’s handy I’m going when I am since three other students at the school are also taking a week out.
Tell me…

  • Have you ever stayed with a host family?
  • Ever been in a situation where you need to find a place to stay ASAP?
  • Have you seen the new X-Men film? Thoughts?
  • Do you have instagram? Link me!

Peace and love,
Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

4 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 6

  1. I LOVE the X-Men movies! I hadn’t seen it before either, but I did love it. So much. I also have a sudden craving for Nando’s and peri peri sauce. Yum. I love Instagram! Ha. I need to get back in the Instagram game again. I’ve been slacking something terrible haha.

  2. Pingback: When Bad Luck becomes your Best Friend | A Piece of Viola

  3. Pingback: 11 Must-knows before going to China | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

