gap year / Life / Travel

If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 5

 

if-we-were-having-coffee-new

If we were having coffee, the first thing I would tell you is that I hate seeing my last three blog posts being this feature because – to me – it just shows that I haven’t been putting in the effort I want (and should) be doing, sighhhh. But that’s all about to change! I have a ton of blog post ideas and I’m going to be doing a whole volunteer series about my two months in Chengdu. I’m also thinking about doing travel-guide-type posts and tips+tricks etc! More Australia/Bali posts will be coming but for now I want to focus on things that have happened more recently.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I had to say goodbye to my students last week. After having taught them for two months, it was really sad to leave them. The last two weeks were where I felt the barrier between us had been completely broken down and I was at last beginning to form close relationships with the students. I was finally beginning to see their personalities and they were coming out of their shells. It’s only been a week but I really, really miss them. I miss them so much that I’m actually planning a crazy, crazy, crazy five-day trip to see them (in-between studying Mandarin intensively – but more on that in the next point!) which involves two 18+ hour train journeys… I know I’m mad but what the heck.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m back at the intensive Mandarin school just outside of Beijing again! I was here for a month in Feb-March and felt my progress rapidly increased. Mandarin is tough and it’s hard work but I’m determined to get better and better and better. I also started watching a Chinese TV drama 《欢乐颂 》to improve my Chinese (I watch without English subtitles, only Chinese ones) so it does take me a while to get through a forty-minute episode.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m staying in another homestay and this one has the most adorable three-year old. I’ve spent most of my week playing with her and she always comes into my room to see me. She’s successfully learnt and remembered some English words too: hello 你好, thank you 谢谢, I 我, panda 熊猫, key 钥匙 and water 水. 

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m starting to make plans for when I eventually return to the UK – but I don’t want to go back. I’ve been away from home for over six months now and, to be quite honest, I really don’t want to go back. I really have the travel bug. Luckily for me, when I return I jet off to yet more countries so the adventure doesn’t stop there, but I just really, really don’t want to go home – not yet. 😦

Tell me…

  • Have you ever felt the same about blogging? Have you ever been annoyed with yourself for not doing something you said you would?
  • Have you ever done something insanely crazy? Tell me about it!
  • If you were to plan a trip abroad, where would you go?

 

Peace and love,
Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

 

4 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 5

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 6 | A Piece of Viola

  2. Pingback: The Volunteer Series: My Experience | A Piece of Viola

  3. Pingback: The Volunteer Series: Daily Life | A Piece of Viola

  4. Pingback: Learning Mandarin intensively | My Experience | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

