gap year / Life / Travel

If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 4

 

if-we-were-having-coffee-new

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have spent waaay too much time on YouTube this week watching TED Talks and random other videos. Watching so many inspired me to finally get down to editing some of my gap year footage {I vlogged my entire time in Australia and Bali}. So I’ve spent a lot of time trimming videos and learning how to properly use iMovie. Watch this space: in the next few months you might well see me on YouTube!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have finished all of my Chinese grammar notes from my first textbook. I’m so relieved – now I’ve just got to relearn all of the vocabulary which shouldn’t be too difficult (though it takes up a lot of time). I’ve also been assigned a student who will help me with my Chinese every Monday. Wednesday and Friday for fifty minutes. It will definitely be a lot of help 🙂

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have been having some lovely conversations with some of my students on China’s version of ‘whatsapp’ – WeChat. One student wants to take me to a fast food restaurant called Dicos (you may have heard me mention it before here); another to a pizza place as she knows how much I love pizza and later today I’m going to be playing cards with a few of them! It’s so nice to talk to them (not only in English but also Chinese) and I can really get to know more about them before I leave.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I went to the post office in China yesterday to try and send a letter and a postcard back home to the UK. It was incredibly difficult trying to communicate what I wanted as they spoke no English and barely understood the Chinese word for ‘airmail’. Nevertheless, I persevered and luckily, eventually, I got through to them and I managed to send those off.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that the school had two performances this week where the students either sang or danced. It was really nice to see some of my classes performing and, despite the two early starts, I enjoyed watching them.

Tell me…

  • Do you find yourself spending hours on YouTube? What do you watch?
  • Do you watch any TED Talks? Which ones do you like?
  • Have you ever found yourself in a tricky language-barrier situation?

Peace and love,
Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

One thought on “If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 4

  1. Pingback: 11 Must-knows before going to China | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

