gap year / Life / Travel

If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 3

 

if-we-were-having-coffee-new

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that this week we had lunch with the school’s headmaster. We were driven to a restaurant about twenty minutes away from the school in the mountains where we feasted on the local cuisine. The Chinese like to toast a lot so we were constantly clinking glasses with various teachers. It was nice but incredibly unexpected and took us all by surprise (we thought we would be having dinner with the headmaster, not lunch…) We all got a carton of 枇杷 (loquat) to take back with us too. I still have so many left 😁

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I was drawn twice this week. On Thursday I sat still for 2.5 hours being sketched – it didn’t look exactly like me but there are certain features that do. I conversed with the artist using my Chinese and we formed a friendship. After exchanging WeChat IDs and talking about his artistic skill, he informed me that he can draw better if it is from an image. He kindly agreed to draw me a front-facing sketch (the last one was from a sideways angle) and I love both of them!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that my wifi is now FIXED – hurrah! It’s super fast now (well, when it wants to be) and I’ve been able to do things on my laptop a lot quicker – I was having to use Giada’s wifi as her room is opposite but her connection wasn’t always the strongest.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have finally caught up with Game of Thrones and I cannot wait for the next episode to be out later today. After battling with the wifi every time I tried to watch an episode I am finally pleased to say that it has all been worth it.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’ve started working on my Chinese again. Yesterday I spent about three hours writing out my grammar notes (which, admittedly, I should have done weeks ago). I still have so much work to do but I can finally see some progress.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that it was my Adoption Day this week. It’s been eighteen years now and the traditions still continued despite my being in China. Alice kindly surprised me with my annual pink wafers in the morning and I enjoyed a lovely FaceTime conversation with my Mum (it’s the first Adoption Day we’ve spent apart!)

Tell me…

  • Have you ever been sketched?
  • What do you think of Game of Thrones? Any theories?
  • Are you currently learning a new language? Do you want to learn a new language?

 

Peace and love,

Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

 

3 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 3

  1. Pingback: The Volunteer Series: Daily Life | A Piece of Viola

  2. Pingback: 11 Must-knows before going to China | A Piece of Viola

  3. Pingback: Learning Mandarin intensively | My Experience | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

