gap year / Life / Travel

If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 2

 

if-we-were-having-coffee-new

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I broke the wifi in my room this week. I was getting so frustrated by how slow everything would load so I tried restarting it and BAM suddenly it refused to work. The lights were on and everything but the router didn’t appear as a wifi option. Great. What’s worse is the fact that three men tried to fix it yesterday but all they did was make it appear as a wifi connection – but alas, I was unable to access the internet even being connected.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have been eating far too much chocolate. The school’s tuck shop is readily available (and I don’t have to pay) which means I have been taking full advantage of this. I need to stop.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have started reading Anne Brontë’s ‘The Tenant of Wildfell Hall’ and I’m really, really enjoying it. I’m almost halfway through already!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have just got back from a small trip to Xi’an. Our students had exams on Thursday and Friday so we had no lessons and got a four day weekend – yay! We decided to make the very long trip to Xi’an (over 16 hours each way by sleeper train!) to see the Terracotta Warriors and other touristy sites.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I finally got a white oreo mcflurry from McDonald’s. McDonald’s here in China are weird: for the New Year they had a pink peach-flavoured ice-cream and now they have brought in a green mint-flavoured one for the Dragon Boat Festival. Because of this, I have been unable to find a McDonald’s that actually served white ice-cream… until I got to Xi’an! I love the mcflurrys here in China because the ice-cream is real ice-cream and much, much better than the ones back home. Trust me.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I still need to plan my lessons for this week (ahhhh) and that one of my teachers wants me to teach her class the song London Bridge is Falling Down’ and I really don’t want to. Oh well.

Tell me…

  • Are you reading anything exciting at the moment?
  • Have you ever experienced a sleeper train/bus?
  • Has there ever been something you’ve really really wanted but just isn’t available?

 

If you’re not following the adventure already, here are the links:

Instagram📷 & Twitter🐥 – @violahelen_
Snapchat👻 – violahelen

Peace and love,
Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

One thought on “If We Were Having Coffee… | Vol. 2

  1. Pingback: The Volunteer Series: Daily Life | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

