Life / Travel

Travel | Boston 2014-15 Part 2

2015/01/img_0242.jpg

Here’s Part 2 of my trip to Boston – Part 1 is here

Wednesday 31st
Today we had planned to visit Concord (about a 40 minute train journey from Boston) to see Louisa May Alcott’s house. We took the subway to South Station where we bought tickets for Concord. Luckily, a train was about to leave in 5 minutes so it was good timing!

When we got off at Concord, there wasn’t even an information centre or any signs to any of the tourist spots. It was quite surprising really! We ended up asking a nearby printing shop directions to the house – a 30 minute walk.

Fancying a change, we went to Dunkin’ Donuts to refuel.

2015/01/img_9907.jpg

mmmm

I got an iced green tea and a whoppie donut. The donuts are only $1 over here – bargain. After a lovely walk through Concord, we arrived at Louisa May Alcott’s house.

2015/01/img_9911.jpg

We had a really interesting tour around her house and, yet again, I learnt even more about American history. Visiting Louisa’s house made me want to reread Little Women all over again! We set off back to Boston after 1pm and decided to revisit North End to have an Italian for lunch.

2015/01/img_9917.jpg

I might be a tad boring with my margherita but it was really really good. We then popped into Abercrombie & Fitch (I got some lush new black jeans). Since it was New Year’s Eve, the marketplace around Faneuil Hall was getting ready for the celebrations. There were already ice sculptures and music was playing. There were also far more people than usual – the crowds were gathering!

2015/01/img_9923.jpg

ice sculptures

We had been recommended to visit The Cheesecake Factory whilst we were there and so took the subway. Unfortunately, the subway was completely and utterly packed: I literally felt like a sardine. I couldn’t even move! We got off as soon as we could and realised that there was no way we would be getting to the factory with all the New Year crowds. Turning back towards the hotel, we rested and got ourselves ready for the 7pm Family Fireworks on Boston Common. This coincided with midnight back in the UK which was lucky!

New Year Fireworks
Wrapping up incredibly warm, we all walked over to the common where we saw some beautiful fireworks for twelve entire minutes. Satisfied with the mini celebrations, we went to relax back at the hotel.

I had planned on going to Boston Harbour to see the New Year celebrations; I was determined to see the New Year in! I ended up going alone since my Mum wasn’t feeling up to it and my sister had fallen asleep. I was struggling to stay up too since it was 5am UK time! Nevertheless, I successfully made my way to the harbour and watched the beautiful fireworks.

2015/01/img_0247.png

Thursday 1st
We all woke up much later than usual (especially me) since we had all had a much later night than usual… {so much for trying to stick to UK time!}

The only museum open on New Year’s Day was the Museum of Science so we chose to go there after stopping off at Harvard and looking around. Here are a couple of photos:

2015/01/img_9995.jpg

2015/01/img_9996.jpg

The Museum of Science was really cool (I’m a scientist at heart…) but I was still extremely exhausted.

We wandered around the Hall of Human Life. This was a whole section where you learnt more about human behaviour and there were various activities you could do. You scanned your personal bar code and then can compare your results online with everyone else who has done the activity.

2015/01/img_9999.jpg2015/01/img_0081.jpg

I snapped the gorgeous sunset:

2015/01/img_0049.jpgAt about 5pm, the museum closed and so we left. After quickly picking up our bags from the hotel, we made our way to the airport. We discovered that our flight was delayed 😦

2015/01/img_0051.jpg

I bought a strawberry & banana smoothie which was good. It was nice to have something ‘fresh’.

2015/01/img_0053.jpg

After a long wait, we finally boarded our plane and said goodbye to Boston. It was such a lovely trip and I would recommend Boston to anybody who’s interested in culture and would like a much less busy version of New York.

I hope you liked this post!

Peace and love,
Viola xo

BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

3 thoughts on “Travel | Boston 2014-15 Part 2

  1. Hello Viola,
    I just found your blog today and I have to say I love it. I have just followed you on bloglovin. Would you kindly follow me back? I am over athttp://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/joannywhitecouk-12452485
    Thank you
    Joanny😊

  2. Pingback: Shopping in Boston | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

