Life

A birthday to celebrate, a trip to Wagamama and Shakespeare In Love

IMG_8795-0.PNG

Last Monday it was my gorgeous mother’s birthday and so all the family went out to celebrate: a trip to London with a stop off at Wagamama followed by an amazing production of Shakespeare In Love.

After school my sister and I hurriedly got ready before meeting our mum and catching the tube to central London. First stop: Wagamama, Leicester Square. There we met up with one of my mum’s oldest friends to enjoy a lovely meal and play at the theatre.

Wagamama
This restaurant is one of my absolute favourites and I’m constantly finding myself choosing to eat here when given the chance. I do have a few courses which I love but I force myself to branch out and try different dishes each time I go. Not only does this make my visits more interesting, but I occasionally discover a fab meal that I wouldn’t have otherwise tried.

This time I opted for a new dish, surendra’s curry with chicken, which is

a rich, spicy green curry made with jalapeño peppers, onion and ginger. topped with sweet potato straws and served with steamed rice

IMG_8705-0

surendra’s curry with chicken

IMG_8706-0.JPG

wagamama

This dish was definitely spicy… and I loved it! The curry sauce reminded me of the katsu curry dish but far more spicy and the sweet potato straws worked really well with the overall flavours. They were nice and crunchy which gave the dish that bit extra. The chicken was cooked beautifully (as usual) and I just the texture and taste of the whole thing. The sauce was just gorgeous and once again: I loved the spiciness! 😉

My sister got the chili ramen (pictured below):

IMG_8707-0.JPG

sister w/ chili ramen

Our yummy meals were then followed by dessert. My sister had the chocolate fudge cake while I had coconut reika (three scoops of coconut ice cream topped with passion fruit sauce and toasted coconut flakes).

IMG_8712.JPG

coconut reika

After our trip to wagamama in Leicester Square, we walked to the Noël Coward theatre down the street to see their production of ‘Shakespeare In Love’.

IMG_8715.JPG

quick snap outside Noël Coward Theatre

Shakespeare In Love
This production is based on the Oscar-winning film by Marc Norman and Tom Stoppard, and has been adapted for the stage by Lee Hall. If you don’t know the story of Shakespeare In Love, I’ll quickly write the play’s summary:

Promising young playwright Will Shakespeare is tormented by writer’s block until he finds his muse in the form of passionate noblewoman, Viola De Lesseps. Their forbidden love draws many others, including Queen Elizabeth, into the drama and inspires Will to write the greatest love story of all time, Romeo and Juliet.

This play was really, really good and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. It was a production full of laughter, fantastically dramatic performances, singing and dancing. I personally think the play marginally beats the film (as much as I love the film) since nothing beats a show that is physically live and right in front of you. The acting was brilliant and I particularly enjoyed the two main characters, Shakespeare and Viola (played by Tom Bateman and Lucy Briggs-Owen). Their chemistry was so convincing which made the play even more exciting and daring. The set of the stage was especially well done and definitely effective; we were watching a play within a play. The set was made to look like a stage, with the central ‘bridge’ joining one end to the other being able to move backwards and forwards to suit the scene. I found myself excited the whole way through, anticipating the next events and laughing at the right moments. The play is comical and witty – one I would definitely recommend you see if you get the chance!

Here’s the trailer for the play 🙂

You can buy tickets here.

Selfie Time
I really wanted to do an OOTD/OOTN post on what I wore but unfortunately as I was in a rush, I didn’t have the time to get any photos taken. So… here are a couple of shameless selfies *blushes*

IMG_8793.JPG

selfie central

I had a great evening and I hope my mum enjoyed her birthday celebrations – I know I certainly did!

Have you had a lovely night out recently?

Peace and love,
Viola xo
BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | TUMBLR

One thought on “A birthday to celebrate, a trip to Wagamama and Shakespeare In Love

  1. Pingback: Blogmas Day Twenty Six | One Year Blogiversary | A Piece of Viola

Leave a Reply

